So much to catch up on…

I didn’t realize how long its been since I blogged last until I looked at the publish dates of my last post. I’ve been trying to keep at least once a month going, but I obviously failed. Well, where to begin…

Races:
In May, Marcelo and I ran the Soldier Field 10 mile race. Turned out to be a really nice day, cloudy but perfect weather to run 10 miles! I PRed my best 10 mile race so far. Marcelo did great too considering he had prom the night before and only about 4 hrs of sleep! We also ran Cinco de Miler (5 mile race), another good one. I would do that one again.

In June, I did the Lake in the Hills Triathlon, 3rd time I’ve done this race. As much as I hate getting up at 3 am, and the double transition areas, I do like this race. Its cheap, well run, nice lake to swim in, great rolling bike course and nice run. It’s early in the season though and it always kills me because I not prepared. I still beat last season’s time by 5 minutes. My swim got much better but the run and the bike slower. Like I said, I was not prepared. I would have typically completed one or two more races in June but for some reason, I didn’t. Too much going on, I think.

In July, I did the Wauconda sprint Triathlon or should I say, I showed up for it. Nothing else really went well after I got there. My timing chip strap broke 4 times, got to the swim start and did a practice swim…well, that’s what I tried to do anyway. I could not stop gagging and panicking. There was muck and seaweed everywhere. Every time I took a stroke I was wading through seaweed. I tried to get over it, I really did. They did not allow wet suits since the water temp was 84 degrees, so my comfort zone was shattered too. Needless to say, no floatation and constant gagging does not make for a good swim so DNFed the swim and walked off to get my bike and ride. Ride was great, until I got to the end and collided with another biker while trying to get into transition. Luckily we were not going very fast. I have road rash, a torn up tri suit and a bruised ego. So, since I didn’t want to run with my ass hanging out of my pants, my race ended there. Cross off Wauconda from the future tri list FOREVER. Next week is the Glenview Tri and then Naperville Tri the week after. I certainly hope they are better or my tri season this year was officially a waste of time and effort!

I’m still training with TWT when I get the chance. I usually try to make it to practice once a week although some weeks are better than others. My energy level has been low lately, not sure why. Started taking vitiamins..who knows. Maybe I’m just getting lazy.

Marcelo went home:
June 28th, Marcelo went back home to Spain. It was a sad day. I believe he was happy to head home, but also sad to leave. He was getting very used to the American way of life after over 10 months of being in the States. He made many new friendships, which I’m sure he will treasure. We certainly got used to having him in our home and he will be missed (is already is missed). He promises to come back next year, we’ll see. Maybe Chris and I will have to visit him in Spain as well! A few last day photos….


School:
Just finishing up yet another class. Today is my last day for this one, final is turned in and class is over until late August when I have my next round of 10 weeks of torture. Still planning to graduate in May.

Miscellaneous:

Mom and Dad left for Italy end of June. They will be gone 3 months as typical for the summer. My brother and his family left mid July to be there for 15 days, it’s their year, next year will be mine! 😉

We are planning a trip to Kauai this year. I’m really excited about this although I wish it were for a longer time period. 7 days is so short when traveling so far..more on this later.

I finally went to visit my friend’s grave. His mom gave him a beautiful marker with a photo and memorial. I sat and talked to him for while. It would be about this time where I would get his phone call or I would call him, just touch base and say hi. We always talked every few months or so,  I thought the timing of my visit was appropriate.

Cancer still sucks…more than ever.

IMG_0232

About angief02

I am a Wife, an Accountant, and technology geek. I love to Travel, workout, do short distance triathlons and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Races and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

